RSS

Dodger games I have attended

10 Sep

1989: Dad, Mom, Dan and I attended. Dodgers lost to Cubs at Wrigley Field. Highlights were Eddie Murray’s home run and seeing Fernando pitch a bullpen session before the game.

1997: Dad, brother Steve and I went to County Stadium in Milwaukee to see the Dodgers lose to the Brewers. Highlight: Before the game , I went down to the Dodger dugout and asked third-base coach Joe Amalfitano if Mike Piazza was going to be in the lineup. Joe responded: “He better be. Or else I’m going home.”

2000: Dad and I watched three Dodger-Brewer games in Milwaukee. Dodgers won the first two and lost the third one. Highlight was just being with my Dad all that time.

2001: Brother Tom and I went to Dodger Stadium. Dodgers beat the Angels in walk-off fashion. Highlight: I got a Kirk Gibson bobblehead doll, but someone stole Tom’s (no joke).

2001: I went to a game by myself after Tom went back to Phoenix. The Dodgers beat the Rangers. Highlight: Had great seats about 30 rows behind the plate and toured L.A. Times building with my buddy Jay after the game.

2004: Buddy Al and I went to Dodger Stadium and saw the Dodgers beat the Cubs. Highlight: Alex Cora’s 18-pitch at-bat, which ended with a home run off Matt Clement.

2005: Jill and I attended two games at Kansas City. The Dodgers lost both. Highlight: Throwing back a couple of beverages after the game with a sportswriter from one of the Los Angeles newspapers.

2006: Jill and I saw three Dodger games in Minnesota (all losses). Dad, Mom, Dan, Steve, Carie and Joseph also attended, so I guess the highlight was being around family for all that time.

2006: Jill and I took the Amtrak to Denver to watch the Dodgers sweep the Rockies in the season’s final week. Highlight: Sitting in the second row behind the Dodger dugout for the series finale (Jill cozied up to one of the Coors Field ushers, and he set us up). James Loney gave Jill a game ball.

2007: Jill and I saw the second and third games of the year at Miller Park in Milwaukee. Dodgers lost the first and won the second. Highlight: We stayed in the Dodgers’ team hotel and briefly spoke to Vin Scully and several players.

2007: Jill and I flew to L.A. to watch an entire series with the Cardinals. Dodgers took two of three. Highlight: After the first game, which the Cardinals won, we ran into St. Louis general manager Walt Jocketty. I said, “Hi Walt. … Jill, this is Walt Jocketty, the Cardinals’ GM.” Jill then responded, “Oh, nice to meet you. Good game!”

2008: Two games at spring training, Vero Beach, Fla. I think the Dodgers lost both, but I can’t remember. Highlight: I briefly spoke to Tommy Lasorda and got his autograph.

2012: Lost 10-0 to the Rockies as Jill, Maisa, Gramma and Grampa joined me at Coors Field. Highlight: Maisa’s first game. She received a ball from Dodger infielder Juan Uribe during batting practice.

2013: The Dodgers lost to the Brewers 5-2 at Miller Park before winning 9-2 the next day. Jill and I attended the games with Mom, Dan, Steve, uncle Hub and aunt Doris, cousin Molly and her husband Matt and son Eric.

2014: Jill, Maisa, Gramma, Grampa and I attended two games in Kansas City. Clayton Kershaw pitched a gem in the first game, a 2-0 win. Then the Dodgers won 5-4 in the series finale after A.J. Ellis took a based-loaded hit-by-pitch. Scott Van Slyke saved our bacon in the bottom of the ninth with a nifty spear of a line drive that turned into a game-ending double play.

2017: Jill, Maisa, Gramma, Grampa and I saw the Bums lose in Phoenix, then split a pair of games in Los Angeles. The Saturday night game was the loudest I’ve ever screamed at a Dodger game after Corey Seager plated three runs with a hit and a come-from-behind victory.

Dodgers’ record when I’m in attendance: 15-14 (I’m not counting the spring training games) … 6-3 at Dodger Stadium, 9-11 elsewhere

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
