RSS

25 things you didn’t know about me

21 Jun

US Weekly does this with a celebrity in each issue. I like the concept, so thought I’d try it here on my blog…

  1. I don’t mind most household chores, but I HATE dusting.
  2. I could eat chocolate-and-peanut better ice cream every day and never get sick of it.
  3. I’m obsessed with all things southern California, especially the city of Los Angeles.
  4. I have no desire to take a vacation outside the United States.
  5. I don’t mind working at night or on the weekends sometimes.
  6. I broke my arm playing Nerf basketball when I was in sixth grade.
  7. Two of my biggest fears in life are a leaky roof and a wet basement.
  8. I usually relate better to older people than to people my own age.
  9. I hate almost all pop music made since 1992.
  10. I would be a high school history teacher if I weren’t a journalist.
  11. My first car was a 1983 Buick LeSabre.
  12. I played basketball for two to three hours a day when I was seventh and eighth grade.
  13. I’ve been scared of dogs since I got attacked by a blue heeler as a kid.
  14. I love reading Hollywood tabloids.
  15. I think my wife is the best cook in her age bracket in the United States.
  16. The Opinion page is usually the first thing I read in the newspaper each day.
  17. My mother-in-law and father-in-law are two of my favorite people.
  18. I like black coffee in the morning and Black Velvet in the evening.
  19. I have a big skull and big thighs — but small feet, hands and fingers. It’s my Irish DNA.
  20. I never had chicken pox.
  21. When I was a kid, I thought Miracle Whip sandwiches were very tasty.
  22. I think the biggest question facing our country in the next 100 years is, “How will we power our cars/planes and heat our homes?”
  23. I used to worry incessantly about losing my hair. Now I couldn’t care less.
  24. I enjoy going to the dentist. I find it relaxing.
  25. I’ve always hated shopping for clothes.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “25 things you didn’t know about me

  1. Matt

    June 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    If one wears soft contact lenses every day for 30 years, there is a 1/2000 chance one will experience an infection that will lead to 20/70 vision or worse. Activities like swimming in lenses / wear during sleep drive this up significantly. Rates of vision loss after LASIK (while not zero) are not this high. Therefore, if one desires a minimal risk method of correction, stick with glasses – preferably safety glasses! If one accepts some risk, both contact lenses and LASIK are options.

     
    • dodgerkramer

      June 24, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      Wow, this is by far the most thoughtful comment ever posted on the Dodgerkramer blog! Thanks for the info, Matt! What’s my bill?

       
  2. Gregory G. Shriver

    December 7, 2011 at 1:09 am

    I find No. 4 to be the most interesting. I have been to a lot of places, 47 states to be exact, 35 baseball parks, The Super Bowl, Final Four, baseball playoffs, yada yada yada … and four provinces of Canada. But that’s it so far for me. Nothing overseas. I would like to see London and Paris, but as much as travel is in my blood I really want to go everywhere I desire in my own country before I worry about other places where I have so little context. And yet, I know so many people who are the opposite. I just don’t get that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
